Close this search box.

2023 Selection Committees Are Starting Work!

By the end of October, the application deadlines will have passed for the graduate scholarship for non-Japanese women to study in Japan (NJG), the graduate scholarship for Japanese women to study abroad and the Cartier scholarship (SA). The deadlines for the scholarships for the visually impaired (SVI) will close on November 9.

And so… scholarship selection begins!

Thank you to everyone who has volunteered to join the selection committees. If you still would like to join the team, there are lots of ways to help the committee for a short time or a large commitment. Please contact us directly at Scholarship has several opportunities to join as a one-time volunteer including hostess on interview days in February and March, and Translators (J to E) for the SVI applications in December.

 2024 Scholarship Selection Committees: updates
Most meeting dates and committee members have been finalized and meetings have started or will start soon. All meetings and interviews will be held online (Zoom).

Study Abroad (SA)
Coordinators: Yuko Yoneoka and Susan Kreidler
Eligibility Screening: November 7, Tuesday
Meetings: Tuesdays, November 14, December 12, January 16, February 13,
Interview: February 24, Saturday
Wrap up: February 27, Tuesday

Scholarship for the Visually Impaired (SVI)
Coordinators: Nancy Tsurumaki and Yuka Watanabe
Meetings: Fridays: December 15, January 12, February 2
 Interview and Wrap Up: March 2, Saturday

Non-Japanese Graduate (NJG) 
Coordinators: Akiko Tatsuke, Jane Baker, and Ann Endo
Eligibility screening: October 23, Monday
Meetings: Mondays, November 6, December 4, and January 22
Interview: February 17, Saturday
Wrap-up meeting: February 19, Monday

At the Print Show Opening Reception on October 17, Elizabeth Gamarra
(NJG 2023) will be attending in-person and making a speech. We are proud to introduce her to the guests and artists.

*Next Scholarship General Meeting: December 7, Thursday from 10:00 to 11:30 on Zoom
All Members are welcome!

Director of Scholarship: Miyuki Fukuma 
Scholarship Co-Chairs: Noriko Tanaka and Kristen Hughes